Robert Horry going into the San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame Saturday

Robert Horry (AP Photo)

SAN ANTONIO – I’ve got to get a new tux by Saturday. Shaq ripped up my old one last year at the San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame ceremony.

This year, Robert Horry of the Spurs is among the inductees, and ‘Big Shot Rob’ has all the support of his former Spurs players and coaches.

“Robert who?” said Spurs coach Gregg Popovich with a laugh when I asked about Horry. “He’s significant in two of our championships. He’s Hall of Fame as far as I’m concerned.

“A great guy,” said Manu Ginobili. “Fun to have around. Fun to play with. He was a cool dude.”

The Hall of Fame induction is Saturday night at the Convention Center. We'll induct five new members including Seven-time NBA champion Robert Horry, Annie Chandler Grevers, most decorated woman swimmer in San Antonio, former San Antonio Sports executive director Susan Blackwood, Sylvester Perez, all-star high school and collegiate baseball player and high school coach, and Leo Rose, former owner of the San Antonio Racquets and an original investor in the San Antonio Spurs.

Robert “Big Shot Rob” Horry was drafted by the Houston Rockets in the first round of the 1992 NBA Draft. He played 16 season in the NBA and played for the San Antonio Spurs from 2003-2008. He earned his nickname “Big Shot Rob” because of his clutch shooting in important games. Horry was a contributor in two of the Spurs’ five championship seasons. In 2005, he went 38 of 85 behind the three-point line in the playoffs, including a game-winning three-point shot in the final seconds to win Game 5 against the Pistons. Until the 2016 NBA Finals, Horry held the record for the most three-pointers in the NBA Finals with 56 and was in (more) the playoffs in every year of his NBA career. He is one of two players, the other being John Salley, who have won NBA Championships with three different teams: two with the San Antonio Spurs, three with the Houston Rockets and three with the LA Lakers.

Annie Chandler Grevers was a three-time state champion at Churchill High School in the 100 meter breaststroke, a member of two state championship relay teams and still holds the state record in the stroke. At the University of Arizona, Chandler Grevers was a member of the 2008 NCAA Championship team, and broke the NCAA record as the 2010 National Champion in the 100 meter breaststroke. She was a gold medalist in the 50 meter breaststroke at the 2010 World University Games, gold medalist at the 2011 Pan American Games, and competed in three Olympic Trials. She was a member of the USA National swim team from 2010-2012.

Susan Blackwood was executive director of San Antonio Sports for 17 years. Under her leadership, San Antonio attracted and hosted three NCAA® Men’s and two Women’s Final Fours®, two NCAA® Division I Women’s Volleyball Championships, the Rock ‘n’ Roll San Antonio Marathon and several other high profile NCAA events. Blackwood expanded San Antonio Sports’ youth programs to serve thousands of children annually, and she initiated the SPARK (school park) program for local elementary and middle schools. During her tenure, the nonprofit organization grew its annual budget from $125,000 to $3.4 million.

Sylvester Perez was an All-City outfielder at Harlandale High School and an NAIA Baseball All-American at New Mexico Highlands University from 1969-1971. In 1971, he batted .401 and set a school record of 13 home runs that stood for 29 years. As a baseball coach, he won district championships at three different San Antonio high schools: MacArthur (1979), Madison (1982) and Judson (1985). Perez’s teams never finished lower than second in district play. Two of his high school players, John Gibbons and Norm Charlton, went on to play in the major leagues and won World Series titles. Gibbons is the current manager of the Toronto Blue Jays.

Leo Rose helped attract the San Antonio Spurs to the Alamo City as an investor and served as co-chairman of the board. Rose also owned the San Antonio Racquets, a World Team Tennis co-ed league fronted by Billy Jean King, which won two league championships during their 10-year run. His community involvement included co-chairing a successful fundraising effort to build a new center court at the City-owned McFarlin Tennis Center, as a member of the executive committee for the 1993 U.S. Olympic Festival, and co-chairman of the National Senior Games in 1995. Rose was also an early supporter and board member of the San Antonio Sports Foundation (now San Antonio Sports). As a recreational athlete, Rose played on city championship teams in basketball and fast pitch softball, and was an all-star shortstop for five consecutive years after returning from World War II.

CLICK HERE to learn more...

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off